Russian phonetic keyboard in linux

A keyboard layout for linux, mapping the keys with the phonetic places of a danish keyboard.

The purpose of this layout, is to create a layout similar to the one found here. This layout code are intended for Linux/Ubuntu instead of Windows.

This has been tested in Ubuntu 11.04 & 16.04 64bit (and some version between, all 64bit)

Add following as variant under ru in file the file:

  • /usr/share/X11/xkb/rules/evdev.xml

<variant> <configItem> <name>phonetic_danish</name> <description>Russian, Danish Phonetic</description> </configItem> </variant>

Add following in /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/ru

partial alphanumeric_keys xkb_symbols "phonetic_danish" { name[Group1]= "Russia Phonetic Danish"; include "latin(type2)" key <AE11> {[ plus, question, plusminus, questiondown]}; key <AE12> {[ dead_acute, dead_grave, bar, brokenbar]}; key <TLDE> {[ Cyrillic_shcha, Cyrillic_SHCHA, threequarters, paragraph]}; key <BKSL> {[Cyrillic_softsign, Cyrillic_SOFTSIGN, apostrophe, asterisk]}; key <LSGT> {[Cyrillic_hardsign, Cyrillic_HARDSIGN, backslash, notsign]}; key <AC10> {[ Cyrillic_e, Cyrillic_E, dead_acute, dead_doubleacute]}; key <AC11> {[ Cyrillic_yu, Cyrillic_YU]}; key <AD11> {[ Cyrillic_ya, Cyrillic_YA]}; key <LatZ> {[ Cyrillic_ze, Cyrillic_ZE, less]}; key <LatA> {[ Cyrillic_a, Cyrillic_A, greater]}; key <LatM> {[ Cyrillic_em, Cyrillic_EM, mu]}; key <LatE> {[ Cyrillic_ie, Cyrillic_IE, EuroSign]}; key <LatR> {[ Cyrillic_er, Cyrillic_ER, registered]}; key <LatW> {[ Cyrillic_sha, Cyrillic_SHA]}; key <LatV> {[ Cyrillic_ve, Cyrillic_VE]}; key <LatQ> {[ Cyrillic_zhe, Cyrillic_ZHE]}; key <LatS> {[ Cyrillic_es, Cyrillic_ES]}; key <LatD> {[ Cyrillic_de, Cyrillic_DE]}; key <LatF> {[ Cyrillic_ef, Cyrillic_EF]}; key <LatG> {[ Cyrillic_ghe, Cyrillic_GHE]}; key <LatT> {[ Cyrillic_te, Cyrillic_TE]}; key <LatY> {[ Cyrillic_yeru, Cyrillic_YERU]}; key <LatU> {[ Cyrillic_u, Cyrillic_U]}; key <LatI> {[ Cyrillic_i, Cyrillic_I]}; key <LatO> {[ Cyrillic_o, Cyrillic_O]}; key <LatK> {[ Cyrillic_ka, Cyrillic_KA]}; key <LatL> {[ Cyrillic_el, Cyrillic_EL]}; key <LatC> {[ Cyrillic_tse, Cyrillic_TSE]}; key <LatN> {[ Cyrillic_en, Cyrillic_EN]}; key <LatB> {[ Cyrillic_be, Cyrillic_BE]}; key <LatJ> {[ Cyrillic_shorti, Cyrillic_SHORTI]}; key <LatH> {[ Cyrillic_che, Cyrillic_CHE]}; key <LatX> {[ Cyrillic_ha, Cyrillic_HA]}; key <LatP> {[ Cyrillic_pe, Cyrillic_PE]}; include "kpdl(comma)" include "level3(ralt_switch)" };

When you have inserted this code the 2 places, you should restart your computer. After rebooting, you should be able to find a new keyboard layout in the keyboard settings, like shown on the picture below.

Keyboard layout in Ubuntu 11.04 - Gnome